Jay-Z Pens Letter to Daughter

Before I got in the game, made a change, and got rich,

I didn’t think hard about using the word B—-.

I rapped, I flipped it, I sold it, I lived it

now with my daughter in this world

I curse those that give it.

I never realized while on the fast track 

that I’d give riddance to the word bitch, to leave her innocence in tact.

No man will degrade her, or call her out her name

the women won’t despise her and call her the same.

I know it’s gonna miss me

cuz we been together like Nike Airs and crisp tees

when we all used to hang out front

singing 99 problems but a lady ain’t one.

Excuse me miss, can I be your mister

cuz I can tell the difference from a little girl and a sister,

She never grew up, her father left her alone

I promise not to talk like we used to

until Kingdom Come.

I’m so focused on your future,

The degradation has passed

I wish you wealth, health, and insight

forever young you may pass.

Blue Ivy Carter, my angel.

RO

About Jade

I'm a senior at North Carolina A&T State University. I am also a marketing representative for BET and Street Team representative for So So Def recording artist Dondria.

Posted on January 10, 2012, in Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. ummm… is this really from Jay? Because just reading the piece, something in the wording doesn’t sound like Jay-z’s style at all. I agree with what folks are saying though about him calling other women bitches but only wanting to stop now because he has a daughter – IF he actually wrote this. I’m just saying that the style that the piece is written in is giving me a lot of doubt about whether he actually wrote this… Aside from this, this site doesn’t say where they even got this piece from (their “stellar journalism”)… this letter doesn’t appear on his official site, nor in any press release, so… I dunno.

Leave a Reply

