Eminem and Yelawolf Cover Vibe

Vibe caught up with Eminem and Yelawolf for their first joint interview. Eminem hailing from Detroit and Yelawolf from Alabama talked about race, past issues with drugs, and similarities and differences.

Yelawolf’s thoughts on White Rappers using the N-Word

[In Alabama] we have a dark his- tory concerning the relationship be- tween Black and white people. I’m not a role model by any means, but if I said it around the house I got popped in the mouth,” he says, noting that his Black friends used the word as a term of endearment for him as well.

Eminem and Yelawolf talk about their past history with drugs:
You mentioned getting yourself right. Are you completely clean these days as far as alcohol and drugs?
EM: Except for the heroin I shot up this morning. Except for that, I’m clean. [Laughs]

While you’re clean, Yelawolf here smokes weed and—
Yelawolf: No, I don’t.

I hear that in your music a lot.
YW: I started smoking weed at 11. By 12, I was smoking dust. Thirteen, acid, Freon, special k, mushrooms; 16 years old, I was selling X pills at school. Not even because I was a good dope boy, but because I was a scumbag. It was called chocolate chip, and it had heroin in it. I used to take that shit and go to class. I went so heavy into drugs that I had a bad trip one time that lasted for months.

Vibe

About Jade

I'm a senior at North Carolina A&T State University. I am also a marketing representative for BET and Street Team representative for So So Def recording artist Dondria.

Posted on November 18, 2011, in Interview, Magazine Covers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

